Charity / Fashion / Vintage

50s Florals Like Betty Draper

I have never really been a floral fan, they’re not a pattern than I wear. I prefer straight lines, geometry and basic prints, if any print at all! So I was delighted to find myself completely addicted to Mad Man and loving every second the fashion. My personal style is more Joan Holloway but Betty Draper often took my breath away. Her lady like style with the full skirts and high collars was so feminine that it highlighted to me how far from that we have come with very very short body con, and maybe a move back to the more demure lady like fashions wouldn’t be a bad thing.

Her teeny tiny nipped in waist is something I am so envious of! I have small boobs and slim hips, while some of you may think this sounds like a god send, it means that I have no waist and no curves. I spend a lot of time trying to make myself look like I go in and out, even just a little bit.

Betty Draper – 50s Mad Men Style

Capped sleeves widen the shoulders, the belt nips in at the waist and the full skirt sends the eye right out giving an hour glass shape. A skirt that falls just below the knee draws the attention to slim calves and ankles.

I borrowed this image from “Lost in Austin” http://vintage13.wordpress.com/2009/06/10/betty-draper/

Imagine how excited I was when I stumbled across this truly divine silk dress which was so 50s! Gorgeous full skirt and the pattern was so Betty!

Alex & Co dress – size 12, £18.50, Chest Heart Stroke Scotland, Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen

Beautiful button detailing up the back adds to the vintage feel. The matching belt is structured and will nip in the waist beautifully.

Full length from the back. All this gorgeous silk for £18!

This beautiful dress is so 50s it makes me want to take up my rubber gloves and start cleaning, have ES’s dinner on the table the minute he walks through the door and cheerfully hoover under his feet while he plays the playstation for hours on end. And it is these reasons that I didn’t even try it on, he would have me committed into a mental hospital, and given my current limited mobility it would be a struggle to escape. So for the sake of my sanity, I left it there for somebody else so that they instead can go swishing about Aberdeen like a perfect housewife.

9 thoughts on “50s Florals Like Betty Draper

  1. Wow! I LOVE this dress and the whole 50s housewife style. my hubs works in Aberdeen so I might just be sending him in the direction of chest, heart stroke this week when he goes back up!

    • Oh I love that you will (hopefully!) be buying this because of me!!! I have always wanted to spread the love and hopefully increase footfall and sales for the charity shops themselves. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment 🙂 It is mucy appreciated x

Leave a Reply

