Aberdeen + Shire / Charity / Fashion / Shop Review

Charity Shop Corner – Aberdeen

I just love a cluster of Charity shops. I come over all unnecessary when I realise that I’m within throwing distance of 3 or more. There are two mathematical reasons for this:

  • The ratio of minutes to browse vs items to peruse = increased likelihood of finding a bargain
  • Amount steps to take between shops is directly proportional to fatigue in my damaged knee = more cheerful shopper

When I am pushed for time for Charity shopping, then having a helpful array of charity shops means that I can cram in a lot of shopping in under an hour. If I am searching for something in particular, rather than just browsing for pleasure (can I have this as a ‘hobby’ on my CV?) then I need to increase my hit rate for suitable items. Also, if I find an item I like, but I want to keep searching, I can have it laid aside without worrying about the realisation 1 mile walk from the first shop, that in fact the little black dress that I stumbled across in the first charity shop is by far the most suitable and I now need to trudge back with a blister developing on my third toe.

I like to imagine that I took a Numb3rs style mathematical approach to these theories, got my blackboard out and starting drawing swooshy symbols all over it whilst also trying to control my unruly hair, but in fact it’s just obvious common sense.

This leads me to what I have dubbed Charity Shop Corner, Aberdeen:

View from Charity Shop Corner, looking up towards the Library, Church and Theatre.

Looking up towards Rosemount Viaduct from Charity Shop Corner

So now I should concentrate on the shops at Charity Shop Corner, rather than the views from it. I do get excited by Aberdeen though, the buildings are so beautiful and elegant. Granite is so hard that it takes a lot of energy to sculpt it, as a result the adornments on these buildings are often simple and many beautiful buildings around Aberdeen tend to favour pillars as a demonstration of grandeur as oppose to refined sculptures seen on sandstone buildings across Britain.

The Charity Shops at CSC are:

Firstly, Oxfam:

Oxfam, Charity Shop Corner, Aberdeen

You have been witnessing some lovely finds from this Charity shop over this past week, not least the gorgeous Sticky Fingers coat that I found to match my 19th Century trend in this month’s Harper’s Bazaar. Another beautiful find was this gorgeous Monsoon dress in a beautiful teal colour:

Beautifully elegant Monsoon dress, size 12, £14.99, Oxfam, CSC

Thin little straps on this dress will accentuate good shoulders and collar bones, they will look delicate and lady like, however it will also call for no bra straps on show, so possibly not good for the bigger bust.

Next stop; Cancer Research UK

Cancer Research UK, CSC, Aberdeen

I found some great pieces here, one of which was a pair of Ralph Lauren cigarette pants for £5!!! One of the other things I found here was a Jasper Conran fish tail skirt:

Jasper Conran Fishtail skirt, size 12, £4, Cancer Research UK

A lot of these shops now have designated vintage rails, so if you;re a die hard vintage fan, these can be the places to hunt. Some of these goods will have higher than normal prices and if you’re looking for a bargain above all else then you should  continue to forage off the beaten track:

Vintage rail in Cancer Research UK

 

Next on the treasure hunt is Sue Ryder care:

Sue Ryder Care, Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen

I found a nautical inspired Phase Eight dress in here – one of many Phase Eight finds over the past few weeks which all appeared to be from the same collection – but more on that later.

Phase Eight dress, size 16, £7.95, Sue Ryder Care, Rosemount Aberdeen

And the obligatory vintage rail:

Vintage clothing rail – Sue Ryder Care

Finally: Chest Heart Stroke Scotland

Chest, Heart Stroke Scotland, Rosemount Viaduct

This shop was quite intriguing as it was like a tiny little cave with stuff crammed in every corner, not the usual dressed up style of a CHS store. No pink walls, in fact slightly dirty magnolia was key. The changing room was a poky little room under some stairs. It was very cramped. Not at all what I expected. But all the same there were some great finds:

Coast dress, size 8, £25 CHS Scotland, Rosemount Viaduct Aberdeen

 

No obligatory vintage rail in this shop, there quite simply wasn’t room!

3 thoughts on “Charity Shop Corner – Aberdeen

  1. Nice post. I be taught one thing more challenging on different
    blogs everyday. It should always be stimulating to learn content from other writers and observe a little bit one thing from their store.
    I’d choose to use some with the content on my weblog whether or not
    you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a hyperlink on your net blog.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Merlot, Claret – not in your wine-rack but in your wardrobe! | Look Fabulous For Less!

  3. Pingback: Beware of Mr Baker | Look Fabulous For Less!

Leave a Reply

