Charity / Elle / Fashion / Magazine

Tan-Fastic! Your Guide to this season’s “It” colour.

Tan is an all round good egg for Autumn – you can pair it with pretty much anything. It enhances any colour you want to wear and it livens up black, adding a lady-like and classic touch. It is a personal favourite of mine for it’s chuck-it-on-and-go ethos.

Tan Accessories – as per Elle, October Issue

“Tan is the new camel. Richer, warmer – apply as an ACCENT to your winter wardrobe.”

Because they are one of the classic staples of every lady’s wardrobe, you can pick up great examples in almost any charity shop – and here are my picks from this weekend’s forays into Aberdeen. Remember I found all these items in just one day, in only one section of Aberdeen.

Margarita Tan court shoes, size 4, £5.99, Barnardos Union Street, Aberdeen

These leather shoes even have a leather sole, a sure sign of quality! Their brogue style detailing over the toes makes them the perfect shoe for this season where the Brogue remains the shoe of choice for many.

River Island Brogues, size 6, £5.99 found in Barnardos, Union Street Aberdeen

Speaking of Brogues! Look at this gorgeous pair. They need a bit of a dust but other than they they are perfect, and all for under £6!

Faith peep-toes, size 4, £14.99, found in Oxfam, Chapel Street, Aberdeen

The shoe fest continues with these gorgeous tan Faith peep toes, the good Faith too, not the poor quality Debenham’s version of Faith. If you think that peep toes are a no-no for winter, then check out this Elle spread on “Ankle Socks” to see some great examples of how to team them with a peep-toe  through the colder months.

As there are 5 examples of Tan shoes in the Elle spread, I shall continue my Tan shoe bonanza with yet another fine pair of heels:

Brand new Schuh court shoes, size 4, £15, found in Shelter, Union Street, Aberdeen

These patent bow court shoes are perfect for this season’s prim and lady like styling. They were brand new too! So £15 is a great deal.

I know this next item isn’t exactly an accessory in the traditional sense but it fits snugly into this Tan theme so you’re getting it!

Faris leather jacket, size M, £20, found in British Heart Foundation, Union Street, east end.

And finally I found this gorgeous Jaeger satchel which has been featured here already to showcase the Radley A/W 12 collection.

Jaeger satchel, £17.50 found in Shelter, Union Street, Aberdeen

5 thoughts on “Tan-Fastic! Your Guide to this season’s “It” colour.

    • LOL! Don’t mention my plagiarism to Elle though! I am not sure if I am allowed to take photo’s of their photos….. I have this month’s Vogue to crack on with soon too! lol Thanks for commenting, always nice to get feedback. When’s your Vintage Award thing? x

      • Course I won’t! I love the September issues of Elle and Vogue so I’ll probably end up buying them anyway!

        If anyone does get grouchy about the images – just stick a copyright thing at the bottom, or stick a link to their website on there.

        Anyhoo – the vintage awards ceremony is on October 17th and voting closes in a few days – eeek!

        I was amazed I was nominated in the first place, but now I have been I’m really keen to win (but need to prepare myself for when I don’t!)

        Still don’t know what to wear – holy moly! x

Leave a Reply

