Charity / Elle / Fashion / Magazine

Things you can buy now – No 4 – Pony Skin

I am going to carry on my “Things you can afford to buy now” mini series, with inspiration taken from October’s Elle magazine. I know this has been a little belated, but there are so many great things to write about at the moment I can barely contain myself to one post a day!

For those of you who don’t remember, or didn’t read my initial introduction I shall explain briefly here. Elle includes a piece on high street items that you can ‘buy now’ to be down with the cool kids, which to me seems impulsive and irresponsible, and with many of the items costing upwards of £100 there weren’t many items that it would be sensible to just ‘buy now’. So I decided to write a little series of posts, finding those items in that “buy it now” article, but for prices that one could genuinely afford, and this means finding them in charity shops.

This next trend doesn’t match the items exactly, rather the material that they are made out of. Designers and high street stores alike have gone mad for pony skin:

Their No 3 – Kurt Geiger pony skin bag, £270

Their No 28 – pony skin pumps, £295, Russell & Bromley

Their No 36 – Raoul pony skin clutch, £283

Obviously a lot of these pony skin items focus in on the animal skin aspect of things, with many of them having some sort of print dyed in to them. Leopard is this season’s big deal, but that doesn’t mean that other animal prints aren’t going to be big hitters, in fact I think that the more obscure the animal print, the more quirky and original you will look, whilst still knocking it out of the park in the style stakes:

Moda in Pelle pony skin shoes, size 4, £6.99, British Heart Foundation, East end Union Street, Aberdeen

These shoes are perfect for this season’s pony skin obsession. This material is by no means a new thing, it may be at the forefront of some peoples minds and closets, but it doesn’t mean that it’s not been used in the past. Also, with their thin heel and shallow platform, they’re keeping in with this season’s return to the ladylike shoe. Sorry Gaga, your huge platforms are no longer what people want to be seen in.

Topshop faux pony skin style clutch, £4, Shelter, Union Street, Aberdeen

This may be faux pony skin, but who cares! Or if you’re a veggie, it means that you can get the trend for only £4 of your hard earned £s without compromising your morals. I love the perspex box clasp on this and it’s in the most desirable of animal prints, leopard. I would have bought this if I were more of a bag person, but I figured I would leave it for someone else, who would treasure it more than I.

Leave a Reply

