Aberdeen + Shire / Charity / Fashion / Shop Review

British Red Cross Banchory

Now it is actually a week or so since I visited this little shop, but some of it’s contents follow on nicely from my last post “Make do and Mend”.

Firstly, it’s in a gorgeous little setting, set back from the main road, which may make it harder to find, but it has a great car park which would make dropping off large donations very easy. Definitely worth bearing in mind.

Ivy strewn passageway to the British Red Cross shop, Banchory, Aberdeenshire

Banchory is a beautiful little town, and attracts some of the highest house prices in Aberdeenshire, so I had high hopes for the donations of this place. It has gorgeous mature trees all through the streets of the town and is flanked on it’s south side by the beautiful river Dee. As the gateway to Royal Deeside, the surrounding countryside does not disappoint and it is well worth a visit. A beautiful park nestles in the centre with grandiose houses all around while beautiful churches and the remains of the old Deeside railway line give a glimpse of it’s history.

Jaeger 20s flapper style LBD, size 10, £10

You’ve already seen this little number in my Ell Bee Dee post here, but it’s so gorgeous I have to mention it twice.

Mango trousers, size 38, £5

These trousers were size cubed as a 10 but they were absolutely huge, and Mango aren’t famed for their big sizing. Once I checked the label, they were actually a 38 which is actually a 12. I was gutted as these straight legged pale trousers would have been great in my wardrobe with my navy blazer and a basic long sleeved T.

Next blazer, size 10, £6

I desperately wanted this Next blazer to fit, but it was a just a little too big across the shoulders and a little too long in the body. It would definitely be better on someone around the 5″9 mark.

So those were 3 items that I found in The British Red Cross in Banchory. Strangely enough, I found out around a week ago that they had participated in a charity fashion show along with the other charity shops of Banchory which was organized by a local youth group. I was sad to have missed it as I would have loved to write a blog post on the event. Hopefully they will conduct the event again next year!

To conlude – I was intrigued by this last selection of items that they stock here:

After my make do and mend post this is especially poignant. It seems like a natural progression to me for a charity shop to sell items which allow someone to tidy up their clothing etc. A great partnership in my opinion as the people who shop here are after all the most likely ones to indulge in a spot of haberdashery. This could be rolled out in more charity shops across the sector, as this is the first one where I have seen such an ingenious collaboration.

Leave a Reply

