Charity / Fashion

Mix and Match

When you’re buying something new, it’s always important to consider what other items you already have to accompany it. Do you really want to buy an item, if the only way you can wear it is by buying 5 more? I’ll ignore the panting screams of “YES!” from all the shopaholics out there. It’s not sensible, and it won’t help your already groaning wardrobe.

I am sure that there are many Gok Wan lovers out there, I personally am a huge fan of his programmes, especially How To Look Good Naked. His capsule wardrobes only work because all the items can be paired with each other for  the most part. This is the most efficient and fun way to create your wardrobe. If you have too many clothes, you can’t separate the wool from the T’s as it were (yes it’s a pun, shoot me) and it becomes very difficult to see what you actually own.

My recent post on my thrifty Wedding Outfit ensemble, which you can read here, featured a gorgeous Art-Deco style clutch in gold and black. I bought it specifically for the wedding to go with my black floor length dress and mustard/gold fascinator.

Well, when I was out and about browsing on Tuesday I came across this gorgeous Ted Baker mini dress and I knew I had to have it:

Ted Baker dress, size 3 (which equates to a UK 12), £9.99, Sue Ryder Care, Charity Shop Corner, Aberdeen

There are several reasons for this purchase. The obvious one is that it goes with my clutch perfectly. The second one is that it is up and coming party season, and if there’s one thing the Oil Industry likes, it’s a banging Christmas party. A perfect example of capsuling, this dress will go with any of my black sandals, the gold sandals that I wore to the wedding and obviously this clutch too.

Finally, for the saving, a Ted Baker satin dress such as this would cost £130.

Saving = £120

Leave a Reply

