Charity / Fashion

Festivities… to be full of fest…

‘Tis the season to be jolly… apparently

It’s dark, all the time, it’s cold… all the time. The only way to stop my feet from being constant blocks of ice is either to wear two pairs of ski socks, not a good look with stilettos, or to point the mini electric heater at work directly at my feet, therefore hotboxing the area underneath my desk, and making it unbearable brave the average office temperature to go to the printer.

But yesterday, I proved what I had always suspected… That shopping really is a legitimate therapy!

I looked at my pale, unfurnished face and shuddered at the horror of it all, considered hunkering down on the sofa with a jar of peanut butter and a cup of tea, but then thought… No! This is what you’ve doing for weeks, get up and get out.

So after applying some slap, popping my hair in a fail safe top knot, I ventured out with a couple of books to donate and the intention of getting some Christmas pressies, and perhaps one or two things to perk me up.

The charity shops are all in full festive swing, with a huge breadth of party outfits on display

Tuxedo and full length dress on display, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

Tuxedo and full length dress on display, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

I particularly enjoy the panic inducing sign highlighting the amount of shopping days until Christmas.

I saw a couple of lovely party dresses while I was out and about. Remember that polka dot faze? The Stella McCartney dress worn by Kate Winslet?

Sheer-Paneled-Polka-Dot-Dress

Despite the dubious choices of underwear by some of these women, I really liked this dress, and I found something of a similar polka style yesterday:

DSCF7920

Alfani dress, size large, £9.99, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

Alfani dresses can be found on the Macy’s website for $99, and I really liked the lady like cut of this dress along with the sheer polkadot panels.

Butterfly by Matthew Williamson sequinned dress, size 12, £9.99, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

Butterfly by Matthew Williamson sequinned dress, size 12, £9.99, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

I thought this dress was gorgeous, the cut was very twenties and the sequins felt luxurious on the light silk fabric. Butterfly is a range for Debenhams by Matthew Williamson, and does have that designer feel to it without the cost, and it’s even cheaper from a charity shop!

So after a glorious afternoon of picking through racks and racks of sparkly party clothes I felt much better, and much more full of fest!

3 thoughts on “Festivities… to be full of fest…

Leave a Reply

