Charity / Fashion / Purge and Purchase

Extra Purging, but not in a bulimic way…

Fashion blogging is great fun. I enjoy reading other people’s blogs just as much as writing my own. I especially enjoy reading the professional fashion blogs, even if they do make me green with envy sometimes. This life that they describe sounds like an amazingly privileged other world, full of designer shoes and bags, exclusive parties and fashion shows. Sometimes I think to myself, “Oh you pretentious tw*t” but I couldn’t guarantee that I wouldn’t be raving about it all were it happening to me. One of the side effects of writing my fashion blog is that I have lost quite a bit of weight recently, and have become annoyingly, and perhaps a little unhealthily, obsessed with it. Although, only the obsession is unhealthy, my weight is perfectly healthy. I think I’m just extra proud of myself given past struggles through school to lose weight so I wasn’t so annoyingly chubby. I believe that there are 2 main reasons for this, the first of which is that a lot of these professional bloggers are gorgeous, slim fashionistas and as blogging is a community, for some reason I feel that I would perhaps be better accepted if I fit the mould. The second is the less deep reason that now a lot of photo’s of me are on the internet, I actually come up on a Google search, therefore it’s only natural to want to look your best. Society, and the fashion magazines on which I rely so heavily for my inspiration, put forward the idea that the best version of yourself is a slimmer version. Some people reading this may be seeing alarm bells ringing, but honestly, I wouldn’t be exposing my soft underbelly like this if I wasn’t the happiest that I have ever been. Some people call me shallow for my love of clothes and shoes, but I honestly don’t mind, because this is what genuinely makes me happy. After all, I’m only shallow on the surface.

A side effect of this weight loss means that a lot of my old clothes no longer fit me, and this means that downsizing my wardrobe is much easier than I anticipated. In reality, a lot of people could stand to clear out some clothes from the back of their wardrobe, weight loss or no weight loss. Or even, due to weight gain. One of the excuses I hear people tout for keeping  clothes when they no longer fit is that they “might fit back into it.” Now, I take umbrage to this on an epic scale, 2 reasons:

1) if the reason I can’t fit it now is because I’m too slim for it, when I put the weight back on, I will want to make myself feel better by buying new, more flattering clothes, not reverting back to a dress I wore 6 years ago.

2) if the reason I can’t fit into it now is because I am too big for it, when I slim down again, I will want to be showing my new figure off in new, more flattering clothes… seeing a theme here? The only clothing it is acceptable to retain are a ‘measuring jug’ set of jeans as a control, if you want to be scientific about it, to work out where the hell your body shape is by comparison to your 18/21/25 year old self.

So… here are a couple of items that I will be donating to Barnardos this weekend, all of which are cluttering up my wardrobe and impinging on my ability to wear what actually fits me.

Next dress, size 12, cost £20 from the Next Outlet store at Swindon designer outlet last year.

Next dress, size 12, cost £20 from the Next Outlet store at Swindon designer outlet last year.

Tweed pencil skirt, size 12, bought 18 months ago from TK Maxx for £7

Tweed pencil skirt, size 12, bought 18 months ago from TK Maxx for £7

Fenn Wright and Manson herringbone trousers, size 10, bought from TK Maxx for £10 in the sale 8 months ago RRP £99

Fenn Wright and Manson herringbone trousers, size 10, bought from TK Maxx for £10 in the sale 8 months ago RRP £99

Tartan strapless dress, size 12 from Matalan, bought 2 years ago for £25

Tartan strapless dress, size 12 from Matalan, bought 2 years ago for £25

Red Herring strapless dress, size 10, bought 4 years ago from The British Heart Foundation for £6

Red Herring strapless dress, size 10, bought 4 years ago from The British Heart Foundation for £6

Marks and Spencer black pencil skirt, bought 18 months ago for £4 from Blytheswood Care, Inverness.

Marks and Spencer black pencil skirt, bought 18 months ago for £4 from Blytheswood Care, Inverness.

Along with all these clothes, I donated 5 pairs of shoes, and for those that know me, they will understand that this is a huge event, and emphasises the seriousness of my cause to save for a house!

Leave a Reply

