Charity / Fashion

Suited…

This is part one of a two part Blog post, and I bet you can’t guess the name of part deux, as the French would call it. By the way, there are no prizes for this. I might stretch so far as to post you a stolen paper-clip but you’ll have to reimburse me for the stamp!

Let me first rant about something…. the cheap trouser suit.

To set the scene: You finally have an interview for an office job, you’ve worked in retail for the past 5 years, stuck wearing a plethora of unisex uniform t-shirts with badly embroidered logos, pilling under the armpits, usually slung over well-worn black trousers, fraying at the ends. As you’ve been consigned to retail, where the wages are notoriously low, you have no idea with what to wear to said interview. You’ve heard that suits are considered proper, but your limited budget sends you scurrying off to George at Asda for some grey, ill fitting monstrosity.

If I were God, and sometimes I feel I’m dangerously close, but this is usually only after rants about poor customer service where I am convinced that I could do better minus several limbs, I would be omnipresent. I would appear as an apparition, I would lock the sliding doors shut and restrict the movement of all trolleys. I would say to you “Goeth unto a charity shop, and if you musteth purchaseth a trouser suit,  and, personally love, I’m not a fan, buyeth a good quality suit-eth” (Oh no that doesn’t work there, my old English is a little rusty)

I am an understanding soul (cue guffaws from all of my friends and family), and as such I know that not everyone is as comfortable as me in a skirt. A trouser suit is a viable smart alternative. But if you can muster a skirt or dress I would still recommend that, as you will stand out against the competition as more confident. Unless you’re not confident in a skirt, in which case you’ll just stand out against the competition as a bit shuffly and obsessed with the sight of your own feet. After all, how you feel in an item of clothing is far more important than how you look.

Therefore-eth, here are some of my best trouser suit finds from Charity shops. All are of excellent quality. All will give your bank balance a well earned rest. And, most importantly, all will enable you to body swerve the after effects of sitting in a hot waiting room, sweating because you’re nervous, in a cheap nylon suit.

United Colours of Benneton trouser suit, size 10, £15, Shetler, Union Street, Aberdeen

United Colours of Benneton trouser suit, size 10, £15, Shetler, Union Street, Aberdeen

You could expect to pay £99 for the jacket and £49 for the trousers = £148

You’re saving = £133!

TM Lewin trouser suit, size 8, £20, Marie Curie, Morningside, Edinburgh

TM Lewin trouser suit, size 8, £20, Marie Curie, Morningside, Edinburgh

With this one, I like the single chunky button. I think it makes it look more fun, whilst still being formal. You can go in there and be like “Yo dawg! *random hand gesture* I’m dead funkeh, but I’ll still attend all meetings in a punctual manner.” If a button can convey such a message. I’m probably over emphasising the importance of this button.

A jacket like this one is currently £258 on their website and the trousers are £150 = £408.

You therefore save yourself £388!

Jigsaw trouser suit, size 10, £14.99, Salvation Army, Edinburgh

Jigsaw trouser suit, size 10, £14.99, Salvation Army, Edinburgh

I’m not feeling the same about this button. Not sure why. Perhaps I’m experiencing the crash after 3 coffees and a Mr Kipling Victoria slice, or maybe it’s just not as exciting. Thoughts welcome.

A Jigsaw trouser suit would be a nightmare to put together, you’d have to find all the corner pieces first, and then the edges, oh it would take forever! It would also cost you a fair bit with the jackets setting you back around £169 and the trousers coming in at £119 = £288

You save £273.01!

You could even go so far as saying that you saved an extra £25 as the cheap suit from Asda would cost you at least £40. I hopeth you never buyeth a cheap suit ever again… eth…

Leave a Reply

