Fashion / Lent / Outfit Posts

Lent day 3: #TodayImWearing Peeptoes.. in February!!??

Day 3 of not being able to go shopping and I am still very much alive, despite prior research suggesting that I “wouldn’t last 2 days”.

Casual Friday strikes once again and today I opted for a more subdued look comprising of indigo jeans, black 3/4 length plain t-shirt and my Chanel style Zara jacket – with peeptoes…

I was perplexed by the incredulity of some of my work colleagues when they ask “Are your feet not cold?!”. Surely the extra exposure of one big toe per foot does not render my feet any more susceptible to frostbite than when I wear my usual court shoes. What bewildered me further was their apparent amusement at my suggestion that, due to wearing jeans as oppose to exposed lower legs, my feet would in fact be warmer. “That must be a woman’s logic” and other such mildly sexist suppositions were posed in my direction, where as it makes perfect sense to me that an extra two square centimetres of bare flesh on each foot is not going to make as much difference as having 2 square feet less leg vulnerable to the elements.

Jeans, full price, Dorothy Perkins, Zara jacket,1/2 price £29.99

Jeans, full price, Dorothy Perkins, Zara jacket,1/2 price £29.99

Oscar De La Renta sunglasses, £12.99 TK Maxx, Faith white slingbacks, £18 in the Debenhams sale

Oscar De La Renta sunglasses, £12.99 TK Maxx, Faith white slingbacks, £18 in the Debenhams sale

The crowning glory has to be my Faith sling-backs bought about 3 years ago for £18 just as Faith were about to go under (and then were ‘salvaged’, although the quality has taken a tumble in my opinion. I now only buy Faith if it is from a charity shop).

DSCF9007

Their simple black and white detail reminds me of recent Stella McCartney collections. Also their ruffles are very similar to the black and white Balenciaga ruffles featured in my Structured Ruffles post, although, happily, they bare less of a resemblance to female genitalia. To understand that one you’re going to need to read the post! In short, they’re incredibly fashionable right now. Not bad for something that cost me less than £20 three years ago!

Balenciaga black and white ruffle detail.

Balenciaga black and white ruffle detail.

4 thoughts on “Lent day 3: #TodayImWearing Peeptoes.. in February!!??

Leave a Reply

