Charity / Fashion / Inverness + Shire / Lent / Shop Review

Lent Day 4 – I’ll be honest, I failed miserably

Yep, I went shopping, and yep, I bought something. I’m nothing if not honest. And I’m also nothing because I have no will power.

You see there was a fatal flaw in my plan, and it was this blog.

I have to go shopping in charity shops and take photo’s of pretty things, it is the principal around which this blog orbits. Some of these pretty things are going to be a size 10, and some of these pretty things in a size 10 are going to be excellent value for money. It’s not like H&M where I can take the safe bet that the object of my affection is still going to be there a month down the line. This is the ruthless world of the charity shop hunter, like hunter gatherer but much more perilous. You either buy it when you see it or you lose it.

Enough of my pitiful excuses. There’s no hiding the fact that I failed miserably. I am going to attempt to salvage something from the situation though. The main purpose behind my over ambitious sweeping statement of giving up shopping for lent was to only wear the things that I already have in my wardrobe rather than needing to continuously add things in order to find inspiration. Well, I can still put these new items to the back of the cupboard and not wear them until Easter has passed. That way I remain 50% true to my promise.

I also pledge that I will not buy anything from the high street. These items, should they still prove desirable after the scheduled resurrection of Christ, will still be there, (unlike the last chance saloon of the charity shop).

So, to celebrate my total and utter failure, let me share some pictures of my purchases (that I’m not going to wear for 4 weeks, promise):

Next kitten heel pointed court shoes, size 5, £5.99, The British Heart Foundation, Inverness

Next, deep red, kitten heel, pointed court shoes, size 5, £5.99, The British Heart Foundation, Inverness

Edina Ronay jacket, size 10, £10, Caring and Sharing, Inverness

Edina Ronay jacket, size 10, £10, Caring and Sharing, Inverness

It  only fastens at the collar which adds quirkiness to the jacket and means you can show your outfit off underneath to full effect

It only fastens at the collar which adds quirkiness to the jacket and means you can show your outfit off underneath to full effect

Beautiful Viyella scarf with chevron pattern £4, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland, Inverness

Beautiful Viyella scarf with chevron pattern £4, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland, Inverness

This scarf prompted a huge intake of breath in Chest Heart and Stroke. I waved my hand at it from the other side of the stand, lungs full, eyes wide. Lesley took it off the rail and exclaimed that she *loves* chevrons, indicating her tights that had a delicate chevron pattern on them. I relented and offered her the scarf. Thankfully, she kindly declined, just as well otherwise we may have had to fight to the death over it.

While in this shop I bumped into Louise, the shop manager (you can read more on her store here) who regularly reads my blog. She eyed me with a slight suspicion. I had been busted! After reading my posts claiming I was giving up shopping for lent, here I was handing over this delightful scarf. “Ha ha! We got you!” she exclaimed. They most certainly had, although I feel a twinge of sadness that I won’t get to wear this until 30th of March. Only if I manage to keep my amended Lent promise, and, let’s face it, given my current track record that isn’t looking likely!

7 thoughts on “Lent Day 4 – I’ll be honest, I failed miserably

    • I actually thought of you when I saw it! How weird lol. I love a good neck scarf but I always struggle to find the balls to wear it as an actual neck scarf.

    • I know, how stupid of me to even say it let alone write it down and broadcast it to the world. However, I will stay away from the high street, that’s a lot easier to manage 🙂

  1. I don’t know how you could even comprehend giving up shopping for lent. Next year maybe do what I do and give up something you hate. This year it’s stilton cheese. Makes lent much more enjoyable.

  2. Pingback: My little brown bag and why Giorgio Armani would love it | Look Fabulous For Less!

Leave a Reply

