Lent

I have rejoined the dark side

Anyone who follows me on Facebook will know that yesterday I dyed my hair for the grand total of £4. Anyone who follows me on Twitter will know that I dyed it “Medium Reddish Brown” courtesy of Clairol. Those of you who follow me on both forms of social media, consider yourselves well informed, for you are about to receive an update.

If you read lunch time’s post you’ll most likely have been squinting your eyes at the picture trying to work out what the hell I’m bleating on about as you can see no difference. I think it was just the light as one of my more insulting colleagues asked me why I’d suddenly gone ginger, so it was clearly noticeable if even a man commented.

I haven’t seen my natural hair colour in around a decade, despite attempting to return to it earlier in 2012. And then let us not forget the ‘ombre’ debacle before the handy kits came out so that I ended up dying it a lighter shade of orange.

In fact I had come across a moral dilemma in dying my hair before this weekend as I am seeing my dad for the first time in 6 months (we live 400 miles apart) and he prefers my hair to look lighter. In fact I can guarantee that the dying of  my hair will invoke the usual disapproving comment “Oh I see you’ve found it necessary to dunk your head in a bucket of creosote again…”

Yes father, yes I have. This is because as far as I can remember my natural hair colour resembles that of dust. Not just your usual dust either. You know that dirty sandy street dust that builds up outside of shop doorways on busy high streets, all greyish brown and filthy, yep, that kind of dust. Doorway dust. That’s the original colour of my hair.

It’s only day two of #ProjectMichibata and already I think I may have taken it too far. The whole reason behind me risking the wrath of my dad by dying my hair “Medium Reddish Brown” is because that appears to be the natural colour of Jessica Michibata’s hair, my current style/body crush and long term squeeze of a certain Jenson Button, my third favourite man on the planet.

You can visit my stalker board on Pintrest here if you want to make direct comparisons.

Now, let me give you the obligatory ‘Before and After’ photography:

Oscar De La Renta sunglasses, £12.99 TK Maxx, Faith white slingbacks, £18 in the Debenhams sale

Oscar De La Renta sunglasses, £12.99 TK Maxx, Faith white slingbacks, £18 in the Debenhams sale

Again, apologies for my lazy eye, but you get a better feel for my previous colour here

Again, apologies for my lazy eye, but you get a better feel for my previous colour here

You can see here that my hair is a moderate caramel brown with lighter ends, the only thing that lingers of my ombre disaster. It’s all right, fairly inoffensive, but I have been toying with the idea of something more exciting for a while now, which leads me to this:

Clairol hair dye, £4 in Asda

Clairol hair dye, £4 in Asda

It’s not a drastic change, just a slight shift to a more chesnut colour which I feel compliments my skin tone a little better, and means that my thicker, darker eyebrows don’t stand out so much.

I can guarantee that I’ll need to dye this again in around 4 weeks as my hair has a habit of rejecting anything that I do to attempt to make it better. Volumsing blow dry? It’ll be flat in 10 minutes. Corkscrew curls? At best they’ll become gentle waves in around the same amount of time. Dying it a beautiful shade of ‘Medium Reddish Brown’? Doorway dust in around 4 weeks.

2 thoughts on “I have rejoined the dark side

Leave a Reply

