Charity / Fashion

The Perfect White Shirt?

I’ll give you a clue, this isn’t it.

Occasionally ES and I will have to travel somewhere that I will have visited “once around 4 years ago” and I’ll want to go back with him “because it’s pretty”. This means that I will be in charge of doling out the directions, and often I will have forgotten the map.

ES often asks me which turning we will need to take for the next three junctions so that he can pre-plan, and my answer is always “I don’t know, but I’ll know when I get there.” He, understandably, finds this very frustrating as it often means that I’ll be telling him right at the last second which direction we need to go, and if you couple that with the fact that I struggle to tell my left from my right at short notice and it makes for some pretty interesting journeys.

He finds it stressful that we are relying on some faint and distant memory that will suddenly come to the fore when we reach a pivotal turning point. My search for the perfect white shirt takes a similar vein, I’m not exactly certain what it looks like right now, but I’ll know it when I find it.

What I do know is that the more white shirts I come across, the more I am able to narrow down exactly what it is that I am looking for.

Not the perfect shirt No 1:

Gap white shirt, size small, £5.99, Barnardos Aberdeen

Gap white shirt, size small, £5.99, Barnardos, Union Street Aberdeen

I liked this shirt because it had a slightly thicker fabric. I can’t stand that slightly fleshy tone that shows through a white shirt when it’s slightly too thin. Unfortunately, while some women might like the ruffle detail over the buttons, it just isn’t for me. I prefer something a little less fussy. Close but no cigar.

Not the perfect shirt No 2:

Next white shirt, size 6, £3.99 Barnardos, Castlegate, Aberdeen

Next white shirt, size 6, £3.99 Barnardos, Castlegate, Aberdeen

This shirt was nice and simple, and the fit was great, but he fabric was just too thin. You can see that where the fabric has been overlapped to achieve that great fit it looks lovely and white, but the side effect of that is that the majority of the fabric looks too thin and that flesh colour is coming through.

I have been looking for the perfect white shirt on and off for around 3 years now and I have a strange relationship with white shirts which makes my search even more difficult. I envy those women who always make them look impeccably chic, but I somehow seem to slide right back to my time at school as soon as I put one on.

I was always a little bit over weight when I was younger, so white shirts like this remind me of puckered fabric around my middle because it was slightly too tight, or that it pulled across my broad shoulders. Obviously, school shirts were always quite cheap and that’s possible where I get my irrational hatred of a white shirt that isn’t a crisp white fabric all over.

There’s no denying, that the thicker fabric of the Gap shirt looks a million miles better than the cheaper Next equivalent, so that reaffirms my idea that the fabric of my perfect white shirt needs to be substantial.

So, my quest for the perfect white shirt looks set to continue, for now.

Leave a Reply

