Charity / Lent / Outfit Posts

Lent – I have no idea what day it is and it no longer matters because I was bad and bought stuff

Some people may have noticed that I have been strangely quiet over the past few days. Well, that silence is the sound of guilt.

I broke my Lent promise, again, but this time I snapped it clean in half and it is beyond salvage. I have a huge selection of excuses but I am going to deploy none of them. I am simply going to accept the fact that I am a Godless heathen who is going to Hell, although I will now be able to go in a fabulous selection of bikinis – thank you H&M.

So that’s it then… Lent promise, broken, lying in scattered shards across the floor of my life. I’m sooooooo dramatic!

So what, I tried and failed to stop shopping. Big deal. There’ll be people tucking into forbidden chocolate bars behind sofas up and down the country by now I’m sure. I’ll update you on the bikinis that lead to my downfall later, but for now I’ll show you what I wore today.

Part of my Lent promise was to not wear anything that I had bought from a charity shop until Lent was over. In fact if we rewind further, I wasn’t meant to buy anything from a charity shop at all, but obviously that was impossible so I went back on that absurd notion pretty quickly. Since the purchase of two bikini’s and a top from TK Maxx last weekend I have completely given up and decided that clothes are for wearing, so my ‘new’ charity shop purchases shall no longer linger at the back of my wardrobe!

The first item to venture outside was my fur coat. Seeing as this time last year we were in the midst of an unseasonable heat wave, I decided that I should not pass up the opportunity of wearing that bad boy during an ill-timed ice age.

I’ll upload the photographs in their original sequence.

A mis-timed photograph taken by ES at Burger King

A mis-timed photograph taken by ES at Burger King

Me laughing at the hideous photograph...

Me laughing at the hideous photograph…

Fur coat, £25, Auldearn Antiques

Fur coat, £25, Auldearn Antiques

Sadly, I’m now sat here, on my lonesome, cackling my head off at that first photograph. The rest of my outfit consisted of a red dress and a navy blue cardigan.

Ellen Tracy dress, £39.99, TK Maxx ages ago. H&M cardigan, £4, charity shop

Ellen Tracy dress, £39.99, TK Maxx ages ago. H&M cardigan, £4, charity shop ages ago

I’m almost sad that I didn’t wear my red, white and blue chevron scarf with this outfit, but I don’t think that even I could pull off a neck scarf and a fur coat in one outfit:

Beautiful Viyella scarf with chevron pattern £4, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland, Inverness

Beautiful Viyella scarf with chevron pattern £4, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland, Inverness

One thought on “Lent – I have no idea what day it is and it no longer matters because I was bad and bought stuff

  1. You’ve done well to get this far…. I confess, I was at a christening last Sunday and I cracked when it came to the desserts which included homemade chocolate muffins and chocolate fudge *guilty face*

    It would have been a greater crime to leave the jaw-droppingly gorgeous fur coat to languish where you bought it from…. love the series of pics too – good to know I’m not the only one who gets caught out from time to time!

    http://www.mancunianvintage.com

Leave a Reply

