Charity / Fashion / Vintage

Oscar De La Renta Vintage Blazer

I am aware that I have been away for longer than normal, and for those of you who are wondering if I had died in some terrible accident with a sea gull, a packet of salt and vinegar crisps and a hand grenade, please accept this post as proof that I am in fact alive.

Truth is I have been a little depressed of late and I haven’t been able to muster the enthusiasm to go outside and take unflattering photographs of myself despite the heat wave that we are currently experiencing.

The reason for my unseasonable depression? Attempting to buy a house in Scotland. May I advise that if you are going to attempt to procure some form of property north of the border that you do not purchase it from a bitter divorce, deaths are much easier and simpler. There’s less people to argue about things.

Anyway, enough about me, and more about this fabulous Oscar De La Renta jacket that I found hiding up in Shelter Union Street, Aberdeen. There’s nothing like a bit of vintage to lift you up from a sudden, debilitating , generally out of proportion to the circumstance, depression.

DSCF9456

 

DSCF9465

 

DSCF9467

 

DSCF9468

 

Now, you’re all going to have to forgive me because I’m about to admit something so disgustingly immoral that I reckon I’ll lose 20 Twitter followers in the next 24 hours, and that usually only happens when I pin orange and sausage muffins or something.

I bought this for the incredible price of £20 from Shelter Scotland in Aberdeen and I knew immediately that it was a bargain. It’s not really my style as I’m already fairly broad in the shoulders so anything with any more than a half arsed shoulder pad makes me look like something more befitting of the Olympic shot-putt team so I elected to sell it on eBay. I really feel that I should be selling it and if I make a profit, that I should donate that profit back to Shelter Scotland, however, and this is the hideously immoral bit, I’m not going to. I’m going to pocket the difference because when you’re buying a house, every little helps.

P.S. the place that I have my heart set on has 70s wall paper with palm trees on it and I can’t afford to change it for at least a year. I’m sure your heart is bleeding and you’re on the verge of reminding me that there are a millions of people starving all over the world and that no one cares about my hypothetical wall paper, but if I make 20 quid on this it means I can afford an extra tin of white paint, and that’s pretty much keeping me going at this stage.

Now I’m torn between giving you the link to check it out just in case you like it and want to own it, or whether you think that I’m basically pimping out my blog for profit. I don’t believe the latter is the case, but in truth I’m almost too depressed to give it much more thought.

If you like the jacket, here is the listing.

Leave a Reply

