Charity / Fashion / Outfit Posts

Sometimes charity shops have exactly what you’re looking for… almost.

Some weeks ago I took it upon myself, in a slightly stalkerish manner, to try and find a shirt dress just like the one Jessica Michibata is wearing here:

Jessica Michibata in her fabled shirt dress.

Jessica Michibata in her fabled shirt dress.

I searched the whole internet, yes I did. Did you know that you can scour the entire internet while bored watching two re-runs of Big Bang Theory? After having exhausted Net-A-Porter.com I decided that it would be a good time to get in touch with Miss Michibata herself to see where she got it, and, because she’s an all round good egg who regularly makes me feel bad about myself for not being as nice and smiley as she is, she replied!

Apparently it’s by Equipment and it’s sold out. Seeing as their stuff starts at around £200 it’s also a little out of my price range.

The search for an equivalent on the high street seemed set to continue, after all, if you’re looking for something as specific as this, you’re never going to find it second hand. Or are you…?

Shopping last week with my friends Anna and Kerry led us to a number of charity shops where Kerry spotted this little number:

Khaki shirt style dress, £8, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

Khaki shirt style dress, £8, Barnardos, Union Street, Aberdeen

It doesn’t button up the front like a shirt dress but the fabric was the perfect colour and it had a nice light feel. I couldn’t believe it! I’ve been looking for this for weeks! I really really wanted to wear it to the BTCC at Croft this weekend, you know like some total wannabe, but unfortunately the equivalent of an Indian monsoon is forecast to hit Darlington.

Never mind, you win some, you lose some.

One thought on “Sometimes charity shops have exactly what you’re looking for… almost.

Leave a Reply

