Fashion / Outfit Posts / sale

I’m Back! And Backless

So I’ve been away for a couple of years. I’ve thrown myself in to work and various projects over the years, culminating in the odd burn out… and I’ve come to the conclusion that I tend to get really faddish about things. Therefore you can only imagine my joy when I realised that I wanted to start my blog back up. This is different than just starting to blog again; if I’d wanted to start a new blog, a new subject etc then it’s yet another fad. But no, I wanted to re-start Look Fabulous For Less because I still have a passion for cheap clothes, both charity shops and sales, and of course posing for the camera. It’s amazing how much hotter I look with my head chopped off, I’m like Henry VIII’s perfect woman. To be honest my head isn’t all that, so I’m not really sure why I tried so hard to get it in before.

Anyway… I’m going to re-vamp the branding a bit and include new clothes in the form of sale bargains and general discount goodness but I’M BACK!!!! I’m also almost thirty, but we’ll deal with that another time.

This leads me on nicely to my first bargain.

As you may be aware, unless you’ve been living under a rock, or have been on Facebook rather than Instagram (what are you doing with your life?!) you’ll have realised the blush pink and rose gold are everywhere and I’m riding that gravy train like Ronnie Biggs.

This is, straight-up, legit (just because I’m almost thirty doesn’t mean I’ve come to terms with it) the most flattering colour ever.

The first bargain is full price *gasp* but it’s still an absolute bargain:

966535D1-56AC-4CE1-8E4E-D4ECC349ED83

Current season Primark summer weight coat £20

This doesn’t feature on the website otherwise I’d give you a link. I don’t often venture in to Primark, mainly due to my conscience. However I’ve decided to shelve that for a while along with most of my logic based thought processes. I was glad I did, they’ve got quite a few gems in there provided you stay away from elasticated waists of every kind. This coat looks a lot more expensive than £20… more like £25. I’m kidding. The fabric is actually relatively good for not creasing unlike a certain H&M mac I bought 2 years ago where I look like a novice origami project every time I get out of the car.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next bargain was one of those ones that made me go slightly breathless, like I needed to get to the till immediately before they realised they’d made a pricing mistake. Of course, some items of clothing are in sales for a reason, it’s just that I’m bizarre enough to want to wear them and think they look AWESOME.

I recently went on a hunt for metallic trousers, as one does, and bought a pair of, what I refer to as my ‘Oscars Trousers’ from River Island (more on those later). However, in the end I needn’t have searched so hard after stumbling on these rose gold beauties for £3. £3!!!! I’m going to need a bigger font. They are hideously uncomfortable on account of the waist being a size 6 and the legs being a size 10 but I don’t even care.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lets also talk about this backless metallic jumper from TK Maxx. As you would imagine, it’s an unknown brand for £16.99 reduced from the amount of money you spent on last year’s mortgage payments (yeah right) but I’ve honest to God been looking for a backless jumper since I was 22 years old, I’ve been slutty for a long time now and I’m not about to give up yet. I only quit on major life goals and big career decisions.

So there you have it,  my first post in 2 years, none of it second hand but all of it thrifty. I hope you’ve enjoyed it. I’m aiming for 1 a week and there will still be charity shop gold ahoy, especially the post I’ve been meaning to do for 18 months on my Top 10 Best Buys – all second hand, all bargains.

3 thoughts on “I’m Back! And Backless

  1. So glad to see you back Megan. Keep the charity shop articles going as we really do have some bargains and gems, it’s a case of being in the right shop at the right time!!!

  2. So glad to see you back Megan. Keep the charity shop articles going as we really do have some bargains and gems, it’s a case of being in the right shop at the right time!!!

    • Hi Pat! I’ve got a treat for you, my Top 10 that I’ve been meaning to do for around 3 years, and there’s some corkers which should encourage people that despite the increase in selling of second hand clothes though various apps and websites, that you can still pick up amazing things in the UKs charity shops!

Leave a Reply

