Charity / Top 10

Top 10 Best Charity Shop Buys Ever – NUMBER 3

NUMBER 3! We’re getting close to the real zingers, but before those, we have this; a completely unintentional bargain.

I liked this belt. I just liked it. I liked the classic colours of tan and cream (let’s face it, ‘cream’ is probably meant to be ‘white’ and it is in need of a freshen up). I simply just liked it.

It had a French Riviera feel to it, I imagined it with striped chinos and a classic convertible. I mean, if you’re going to accessorise your accessories, you might as well go for it.

So, let me tell you the real story behind…

3. Coach belt

Item details:

Description:

Coach leather and canvas belt with gold buckle detail

Price Paid: £1

20170619_201432

Let me take you back to 2013 and a frankly fantastic outfit (of which I still have all of the items apart from the Armani jeans which I eventually gave up on and decided they were always going to be too small before promptly losing weight). This was the moment that I realised what this belt was. It had taken a year. I’d never even examined it, I just liked it – did I mention that?

I had paid £1 for it and thought, even at that, it was a bargain. I wasn’t even sure if it was leather. I had worn it several times before writing that infamous blog post and simply never looked at it properly.

That morning, I had fiddled around with it a bit, wondered more than usual if it was leather and decided to investigate… not only was it leather, but there was a recognisable logo… a logo that I ordinarily couldn’t afford! Coach…

20170619_201517

I have had to include a men’s belt above as a comparison as Coach don’t think that women need to hold their trousers up any more apparently, and as this is not all leather, I doubt the £175 would be a true representation. However, belts seem to start at £145 so I’ll go with that.

Imagine paying £1 for this, you’d pay more in Primark for something that you;d have to punch your own holes in!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This belt is a very small size. It has a deliberate symmetrical look to it which doesn’t work for me when I wear it on my hips, simply because I’m too wide and it ends up offset. A higher pair of fitted trousers and the belt looks impeccable. I’m going to attempt to get it back to white from cream any day now, it’s only been 5 years.

NUMBER 3 has been and gone. Only the penultimate item and the top spot to go! I’m almost certainly more excited than you are.

One thought on “Top 10 Best Charity Shop Buys Ever – NUMBER 3

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Best Charity Shop Buys Ever | Look Fabulous For Less!

Leave a Reply

